Ulster Cycling News

Irvine Medals in Olympic Omnium at European Championships

1Martyn Irvine has won a Bronze Medal in the Omnium at the 2013 Track Cycling European Championship in Apeldoorn, the Netherlands today. This is the first medal for Irvine in the Omnium, which is an Olympic discipline.

Irvine is the reigning World Champion in the Scratch Race, and this season is turning his focus to the Omnium, which is comprised of six separate events, with the winner being the top placed rider across all races. Gold went to Russia’s Viktor Manakov, with Dutchman Tim Veldt taking Silver on home ground.

This result is all the more impressive considering Irvine suffered from a fractured hip shortly after becoming World Champion last March. The World number one ranked Individual Pursuit and Scratch cyclist has evidently put the injuries behind him to return to the form of his life just ahead of the first major event in the 2014 Track Cycling Calendar.


Speaking from Apeldoorn Head Coach Brian Nugent said “It’s remarkable how Martyn has fought to come back to that, all credit to him. He has worked hard with the squad over the past month in Majorca, going to races in Aigle and Gent, then he was unlucky to get sick last week. He was disappointed with the Points Race on Friday, so just took it as him opening the system. In the Omnium on Saturday and Sunday he was back in form. We are over the moon with the medal, Martyn is over the moon.”


Also racing this weekend were Caroline Ryan and Eoin Mullen. Ryan rode impressively to finish tenth in the Omnium, which is her top placing in the Olympic discipline. Mullen also made a step forward in his progression, qualifying for the match sprint rounds in the Sprint event, against Europe’s top sprinters.

Next up in Track Cycling is the first World Cup of the Season, in Manchester from the 1st – 3rd November.



Men’s Omnium:
Gold:  Viktor Manakov (RUS)      14 points
Silver: Tim Veldt (NED)                  29 points
Bronze: Martyn Irvine (IRL)         40 points

Women’s Omnium:
Gold: Laura Trott (GBR)                 15 points
Silver: Kirsten Wild (NED)             15 points
Bronze: Jolien D’Hoore (BEL)      18 points
10th: Caroline Ryan (IRL)                62 points

Official Championships Website: http://www.ectrackcycling.com/index.php?page=home-en
Cycling Ireland Website: www.cyclingireland.ie<http://www.cyclingireland.ie>
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cyclingireland
Twitter: https://twitter.com/IreCyclingFed or @irecyclingfed


Filed under: Track Leave a comment
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.