Ulster Cycling News

31/08/2013 Ernie Magwood Super Six Rd 6

The final round of the Ernie Magwood Super 6 Time Trial League took place on Saturday 31st at a very windy Woodgreen. As forecast, the rain stayed away, that’s six dry rounds this year and the air temperature was good, but the wind picked up on cue, with a harder return leg and also a solid crosswind at the mid point of the course. It was a day to hide behind the knuckles and pedal hard with times generally 30-60s back on the PBs recorded at the last round, which scuppered the record attempts of both Marcus and Laura, but it wasn’t through lack of trying as they still both set staggering times. An 18 for Marcus, and a time still inside the Junior Ladies standard for Laura of 23:55. Great going in the conditions.

Second on the day was top road racer Frazer Duncan scalping John Heverin, 20:29 to John's 20:30 for third, with Cathal Doyle best of the rest leading home Kieran McKenna and Gary Jeffers on 20:41, 20:53 and 20:54. Further down the field, fastest Junior was Diarmuid Logan with a speedy 23:23, and the Rocket Neil Seffen made a return to set a 23:49.

As the cartoon says, that’s all folks, no more events from us for 2013. I for one would be on the startline next weekend, and can’t believe the season has only the Ulster 25 and 100 to go.

I hope you all enjoyed the events as much as we have enjoyed running them. It has been a vintage year with good weather and PBs aplenty. It’s been an honour to be part of Lauras Irish Record, and Marcus arising as a true challenger to David McCann’s unbeatable 18:21.

I haven’t worked out the spreadsheet yet of all the points scorers but I think I’m safe in saying John Heverin was the overall league winner, Laura Maxwell won the women.

Finally, before I thank everyone, there unquestionably is a demand for another league, or even just clubs running an event or two to fill in a few of the gaps. We currently only have the EMS6 the Spires and West Down leagues, and a few other open events. I would recommend that a few groups get together and organise some events, a good centralised course, and a sensible date and it will support itself even without sponsors. It will raise money towards charities/club funds, and I for one would be glad to help anyone who’s thinking of it, as I’m sure any of the Super 6 team would be. All it takes is a little organising and a few good people on the day, with even the dreaded timing now easily worked with various apps available.

The team of helpers and sponsors who made it happen this year were Richard Davison Motors, Universal Products, Richard O’Loane testing and Geoff and Mary at Bluebells. Also James and Cathal McLaughlin, Mark Greenaway, Sheena ONeill, and Eddie Polin. All of Island Wheelers. Declan Corrigan, Clare Mc Kernan and John McGlaughlin of East Tyrone. Ballymena Road Club for co-ordinating with us to avoid clashes. Not forgetting Martin McKernan, Murray Young, the Hunter family, Gordon Parker and Alisha. and the various others who were cornered/volunteered on the day to help out and of course each and every single rider for giving it a lash.
James and I will get together and make plans for next year, hopefully we will be trying to organise around all the other events! Full details will be announced as soon as we get all sorted, so keep an eye on the website for information and also details of the Prize presentation in Bluebells Cookstown.

See you all in 2014.

Report by David Heagney East Tyrone on behalf of the East Tyrone/Island Wheelers Super Six Series

Ernie Magwood Super 6 Round 6 Woodgreen. 31st August 2013

Marcus Christie 18:59
Frazer Duncan 20:29
John Heverin 20:30
Cathal Doyle 20:41
Kieran McKenna 20:53
Gary Jeffers 20:54
Alex Donald 21:04
Sean McIntyre 21:07
Ivan Robinson 21:09
David Heagney 21:15
David Barton 21:29
Mike Miller 21:37
Johnny Taylor 21:55
Sean Hargan 22:02
James McCusker 22:03
Mark Brown 22:12
Barry Hayes 22:17
Kevin McCrossan 22:20
Darren Lynas 22:26
Mark Watson 22:34
Gerard McNally 22:41
Kevin McAlinden 22:53
Jim Hegarty 23:05
James Gault 23:13
Sammy McFadden 23:14
Tim Beattie 23:14
Emmett Vallelly 23:15
Dairmuid Logan 23:23
Jim Donnelly 23:27
Colin Porter 23:29
Raphael Scullion 23:43
Neil Seffen 23:49
John McAuley 23:53
Martin Drennan 23:54
Laura Maxwell 23:55
Robert Greer 23:59
Harry Martin 24:01
Chris Hutchinson 24:03
Phil Beattie 24:09
Daniel Daly 24:12
Alistar McCourt 24:16
Colin Wilson 24:26
Dolan Dunlop 24:29
Ken Brewster 24:39
Cormac McCann 25:03
William Orr 25:06
Gillian Orr 25:36
Gerry Scullion 27:38

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.