Ulster Cycling News

Lots of racing in Ormeau Park.

IMG_3676There was plenty of racing on offer in the Phoenix CC promoted Crit in the Park tonight.  The event which was supported by Belfast City Council and sponsored by McConvey Cycles was back on the calendar as part of bike week.  There were races on offer for U10, U12, U14, U16, A4/Phoenix club riders, A3 riders and finally a combined A1 and A2 race.

The evening started with a two lap race for U10 riders.  It was great to see almost 20 young riders attack the course with gusto and it was clear that the pace was hot from the start as the race soon split into many small groups.  At the line it was Dean Harvey of XMTB who took the win from Aaron Treanor of Cuchulainn CC and Neil Kelso of East Tyrone CC.

Next to tackle the Ormeau circuit were the U12 riders.  Again the pace was high from the start and the field split early.  By the end of their three laps two riders came to the line together and it was Aaron Heaney of Clann Eireann who won the sprint from Molly McLarnon of North Down CC who is showing that the speed she has gained on the track at Orangefeild transfers across to crit racing too.  Shortly after Drew Armstrong of XMTB crossed the line to claim third spot.

Next up was the U14 race.  They raced for ten minutes plus 2 laps.  Again the pace was hot and the race broke apart but on the line it was Harvey Barnes of East Tyrone CC who took the win from Ethan Fleville of Clann Eireann CC with another Orangefeild regular Xeno Young of Dromore CC picking up third.

The U16 race was as hotly contested as ever with plenty of aggressive riding throughout.  The riders faced fifteen minutes plus two laps.  The victory was fought out in a sprint between James Mulligan of Newry Wheelers and Aaron Swan of TSC racing with James taking it by a wheel.  Third place went to the ever improving George Graham of Ballymena RC, while the first girl was another Orangefeild regular Shenna McKiverigan of Banbridge CC.

As the youth racing finished and the crowd’s attention turned to the adult racing, what had been a pleasant summer evening turned cold and wet as a heavy shower swept across the park, this made conditions much trickier at the tight hairpin turn under the trees.  The A4 and Phoenix club riders were first to brave the conditions as they began their half hour plus two laps.  At the half way point in all the adult races there was a prime sprint for prizes generously donated by McConvey Cycles.  In the A4 race the prize was a track pump which Colm McLarnon wanted and duly took in the prime sprint.  The race continued and after a few unsuccessful attempts to break clear of the bunch it all came down to a sprint finish.  The man with the legs at the finish was North Down CC rider Keith Hooks with Alan Hall of TVR racing in second and Curtis Bell of XMTB in third.

The A3 race was an aggressive race with plenty of attacking but also plenty of chasing and so for most of the race the bunch stayed together despite the pace.  The prime for an expensive helmet was won by Noel Collins of Caldwell Cycles who continued to show his strength by also taking the overall victory.  Second was Connor McAteer of Bann Valley and third place was taken by Kenny Wilson of East Antrim CC.

The last race of the night saw the big hitters came out to play as the A1 and A2 riders took to the course.  The opening few laps saw almost constant attacking from many of the riders with no success until the elastic finally snapped and Marcel Kock of Phoenix and Garry Cranston of East Antrim went clear.  The two worked well together and build a gap to the following group which contained several Phoenix and EACC riders making the chase sporadic.  The two continued on alone to the finish.  Along the way Cranston picked up the prime but at the finish Kock took the win by a bike length in the sprint.  The chasing bunch had been whittled down significantly by the end but it still needed an impressive sprint by Derek Finnegan of Keevan CC to take the third spot.



  1. Dean Harvey XMTB
  2. Aaron Treanor Cuchulainn CC
  3. Neil Kelso East Tyrone CC.

First girl Aine Doherty VC Glendale.


  1. Aaron Heaney Clann Eireann
  2. Molly McLarnon North Down CC
  3. Drew Armstrong XMTB

First girl Molly McLarnon North Down CC


  1. Harvey Barnes East Tyrone CC
  2.  Ethan Fleville Clann Eireann CC
  3. Xeno Young of Dromore CC


  1. James Mulligan Newry Wheelers
  2. Aaron Swan TSC racing
  3. George Graham Ballymena RC,

First girl Shenna McKiverigan  Banbridge CC.

A4/Phoenix club riders.

  1.  Keith Hooks North Down CC
  2.  Alan Hall TVR racing
  3. Curtis Bell XMTB

Prime Colm McLarnon North Down CC


  1. Noel Collins Caldwell Cycles
  2. ConnorMcAteerBannValley
  3. Kenny Wilson East Antrim CC.

Prime Noel Collins Caldwell Cycles


  1. Marcel Kock Phoenix
  2. Garry Cranston EACC
  3. Derek Finnegan Keevan CC

Prime Gary Cranston EACC

Phoenix CC would like to thank the event sponsor McConvey Cycles and Belfast Borough Council, in particular Tim Edgar.  Many thanks also to comm on the night Danny Blondeel, first aider Joan McCullough and Ryan Connor of Cycling Ulster.

PS.  A cycling shoe was left behind in the car park at the crit.  If it belongs to you please contact me at the email address above.  Many thanks to George Graham for handing it in.

Ormeau Park Crit Photos Set 1

Ormeau Park Crit Photos Set 2


Report by Colin Hughes.

 Photographs Bob Graham and Tony Mairs.

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.