Ulster Cycling News

06/06/2013 Eric Maxwell Time Trial – Warrenpoint

The 6th June proved to be a D Day for some riders as they recorded excellent times at the popular Eric Maxwell Time Trial promoted by West Down Wheelers. The event which is run on the Warrenpoint to Newry dual carriageway was a successful evening  and was pleasantly warm.

Forty six riders turned up to race against the clock. There was a pleasing tail wind on the way towards Newry and a slight gusty head wind on the way back towards Warrenpoint.  John Heverin, last year's winner retained the Eric Maxwell Trophy with an excellent time of 20.11. He was thanked by Billy Maxwell for going to the trouble of having his name engraved on the Eric Maxwell Memorial Cup, a service which the club would normally provide.

Phil Omrod achieved a personal best of 24.24 fifty years after his first PB. Well done Phil.


Sean McIntyre of Orchard continues to show his potential by coming third overall with a great 20.45 beating many seasoned testers such as Thomas Martin of Eurocycles, Matthew Heaney of Clann  Eireann and Kevin Lynch of Newry Wheelers.



Eve Mc Crystal of the Garda Cycling Club made the journey north to compete in this event and recorded an excellent 22.12 and sixteenth overall. Michael Murray of Clann Eireann proves that being a new daddy is the way to go as he came back into the sport with a bang to record a 21.59 on the night.

Report Marian Lamb

Results David Cartmill

Club names will be added later if I get the time

06/06/2013 Eric Maxwell Time Trial - Warrenpoint - Results
J. Heverin 20.11   Clann Eireann
T. Martin 20.31  Eurocycles
S. McIntyre 20.45
R. Stewart 30.49   TVR
M. Heaney 21.02
D. Woods 21.06  Newry Wheelers
K Lynch 21.18  Newry Wheelers
P. Vaughan 21.33
P. Wilkinson 21.34  West Down Wheelers
S. Harkens 21.36
D. Heagney 21.49
J. Clyde 21.50  Dromara CC
J. McCusker 21.58
M. Murray 21.59
S. Stockton 21.59
E. McCrystal (Lady) 22.12
P. Carlisle 22.21
B. McKinney 22.30
J. Hegarty 22.35
M. Alexander 22.44  West Down Wheelers
D. Blevins 22.53
C. Hutchinson 23.01
S. Keery 23.04  West Down Wheelers
J. Graham 23.06
J. McAuley 23.09  Appollo
J. Kernaghan 23.15  West Down Wheelers
C. Adamson 23.28  West Down Wheelers
D. Mulholland 23.32
M.McConville 23.39   Clann Eireann
A. Stewart 23.40
P. Beattie 23.43
J. Donnelly 23.44
D. Cartmill 23.46  West Down Wheelers
H. Martin 23.48   Clann Eireann
W. McNeill 23.59
A. McCourt 24.02  West Down Wheelers
C. Magill 24.18
P. Ormrod 24.24 PB
R. Moore 24.43
C. Burns 24.54  Banbridge CC
J. Cromie 25.05  West Down Wheelers
K. Campbell (Lady) 25.56   Newry Wheelers
M. Mullen 26.32
A. McCann (Lady) 26.34  Appollo
S. O'Neill (Lady) 26.52
J. Ormrod (Lady) 29.12

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.