Ulster Cycling News

26/05/2013 Ernie Magwood Super Six Rd 2 – Toome

Take one determined rider, add in a new toy in the form of a new all singing all dancing Cervelo P5, add a huge number of watts, (probably now higher than his account balance) and the results are staggering.

I would imagine there will be a queue around the block at Slane's Cycles tomorrow, as John reversed his defeat at round 1 on the Omagh Road to John Madden, and turned it into a 49s winning margin this time, an impressive result. I have to admit I did question the impecable Gordon Parker's timekeeping for a second, but I'd say so to did John's rivals who were left trailing in his wake. We should have asked him to do it again to prove it was genuine! John Heverin also received the Martin Kennedy Memorial Trophy from Old Bleach as this event doubled as the Martin Kennedy Memorial event.


Second on the day, was, of course, John Madden, leaving them both equal in the league and setting up a fantastic battle for the Ernie Magwood League Trophy.

Third was Cathal Doyle, by a small margin from Stephen Harkens who was fresh from his victory on Thursday evenings Spires Trilogy, with Matthew Heaney and Connor Young hot on their heels. With Connor of Ballymena Road Club also fastest Junior on the day.


The Women were out in force today. Ann McFarland of East Tyrone fastest on 24:49 edging out a returning Laura Maxwell of Roe Valley, with Gillian Orr, Rachael Withers, edging out Lorraine Jeffers and Sheena O Neill.
As usual a huge thanks to all involved. Gordon Parker allowed the Hunter Family to take a well earned holiday. Mark, & Sheena took care of all the paperwork, James and Noel Mulholland took care of the starting and pushing off, the Magwood family for their continued support, and off course each and every one of the 54 riders who came out to support the league. Thanks to you all. The league would not run without you.Round 3 is at Woodgreen, on I believe the 8th June. See you all there.
26/05/13 - Ernie Magwood Super 6 & Martin Kennedy Memorial Toome

John Heverin (Clann Eireann) 20:26
John Madden (Curran Racing) 21:14
Cathal Doyle (Carn Wheelers) 21:27
Stephen Harkens (Team Madigan) 21:39
Matthew Heaney  (Apollo CT) 21:46
Conor Young (Ballymena Chain Reaction ) 22:02
Ivan Robinson (Ards CC) 22:03
P McKenna 22:04
David Heagney (East Tyrone CC) 22:04
J McCusker 22:20
Steven Workman (Ballymena Chain Reaction ) 22:21
Rodney Stewart 22:25
Martin Sherry 22:26
Stuart Scott 22:33
Stephen McAllister (Ballymoney CC) 22:39
Stuart Laverty (Ballymoney CC) 22:42
Mark Watson (Ards CC) 22:54
Jason Henry (U/A) 23:01
Paul Swenarton (North Down) 23:05
Brendan McCourt (Northern Dave Kane) 23:13
John Rooney (Phoenix CC) 23:16
J Heagney 23:16
John Clyde 23:19
Noel McLoughlin 23:23
Patrick Withers (West Tyrone Velo.com) 23:23
Barry Hayes 23:37
Chris Hutchinson 23:46
J Graham 23:55
A Stewart 24:01:00
T Wright 24:07:00
S McFadden 24:08:00
G Kearney 24:12:00
Mark Glendinning 24:14:00
J Donnelly 24:20:00
Declan Mulholland 24:30:00 (Clann Eireann)
John O'Neill 24:34:00
Rodney Young 24:44:00
Warren McNeill 24:48:00 (Clann Eireann)
Ann McFarland 24:49:00
D Logan 24:50:00
Harry Martin 25:04:00 (Clann Eireann)
Cormac Lynch 25:09:00
Colin Wilson (Bikeworks) 25:10:00
Matthew Brennan (Ballymena Chain Reaction ) 25:17:00
Colin Massey 25:19:00
Laura Maxwell (Roe Valley CC)25:45:00
Adrian Kerr (Ballymena Chain Reaction ) 25:50:00
Gillian Orr (North Down CC) 26:06:00
Rachael Withers (West Tyrone Velo.com) 26:18:00
Lorraine Jeffers  (East Tyrone CC) 26:56:00
Sheena ONeill (Island Wheelers) 27:37:00

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.