Ulster Cycling News

27/04/13 Super Six Rd 1 Omagh Rd

022Not many people like to ride a time trial twice, the body on fire sensations, particularly for the first event of the year, aren't particularly pleasant, but when John Madden had an issue fitting his rear wheel, started his event and watched his minute man ride off into the distance, something was wrong. The answer came apparent at the turn when his rear tub went pop having rubbed his brake blocks for 3 1/2 miles at a very high wattage.

However James McLaughlin, not wanting to see him get off so lightly, threw him his car keys and told him he could restart. Incredibly restart he did and as last rider away he pipped John Heverin by 9 seconds. John Heverin of course, been a gent had no protests about his late start, but he did hiss something through his teeth about "Next time Madden" before heading home to flog himself on the turbo at 400w, setting up a battle Royal for the Ernie Magwood Super 6 trophy.

It was a very difficult morning with a hard headwind out into a biting cold wind, before a (hopefully) fast blast  home. Heavy traffic for the Cookstown 100 races meant a very difficult tricky to Marshall event, and traffic which caused a few issues, slowing riders, or assisting a few lucky ones, but thankfully everyone got home safely and happy.


After the top two, several other riders were in the hunt, proving it will be a hard fought league this year, with several riders all riding a 21, Local man Gary Jeffers was favoured to cause an upset, but misfired slightly and was unable to repeat his 21:00 from 2 days previous, but no doubt his incredible form of late will come back and he will snap at the heels of the top 2 again given another day, but really any one of the top 10 could make it into the top 3.

Further down the field, CathalHendron returned from a leg injury, Jonnie Dempsey, pulled on the bike shoes instead of his running shoes, Gordon Scott made his TT return, Brendan Mc Court showed off his beautiful new Northern Dave Kane Skin suit with well thought out colours to help make the rider visible, while club "mates" and shared categories and genders, tore stripes out of each other and won or lost their own personal battles for bragging rights. Whilst the incredibly unlucky Jonny Graham suffered his second puncture of the day and failed to finish.

Tonya Moran of Black Rose was fastest lady, Stuart Laverty done a great ride to be fastest Junior, and needs to ride another round if he wants his prize money as he was too fast home.

Once again a huge thanks to everyone who helped out. With the dead turn, traffic diversions, and heavy traffic, the event was in serious danger of not going ahead. But due to people like Brian McComb, Brian Nugent (fresh from Minsk world champ duties) Declan Corrigan, Sheena ONeill, Mark Greenaway, James McLaughlin, the Hunter family and Marshall from Ballymoney CC, who crashed recently yet decided to come help, the event certainly would'nt have happened.

On a sad note, the organisers of the Ernie Magwood league offer our deepest sympathies to Laura Maxwell and her family on the recent death of her father. We hope to see her out again shortly.

See you all for round 2 on 26th May at Toome.

Ernie Magwood Super 6 TT League 2013 Round 1 Omagh Road 27th April

John Madden  Curran 20:42
John HeverinClannEirann 20:51
Stuart Scott Madigan 21:06
Patrick McKennaUA 21:11
Cathal Doyle Carn Wheelers 21:21
Gary Jeffers East Tyrone  21:24
Ivan Robinson Ards 21:34
Declan McCartney Roe Valley 21:39
Rodney Stewart TVR 21:45
Martin Sherry Emyvale 21:46
CathalHendron Apollo 22:24
Gerald McNallyBann Valley 22:25
James McCusker  Orchard 22:33
Bryan McKinney PTR 22:44
John McGlaughlin East Tyrone  22:47
Jonathon Dempsey East Antrim 22:56
John Clyde Dromara CC 23:01
Stuart LavertyBCC 23:05
Gordon Scott East Antrim 23:05
Paul Swenerton North Down  23:07
Trevor Wright Dromara CC 23:15
Mark Watson Ards 23:15
Brendan McCourt Northern Dave Kane 23:18
Noel McLoughlin Island Wheelers 23:25
Jim Hegarty               Phoenix 23:28
Craig Crawford Duffin Transport 23:32
Patrick Withers West Tyrone 23:34
Davy Quinn Apollo 23:41
Mark Hewitt East Tyrone  23:42
Aaron Stewart Orchard 23:46
Harry McComb East Tyrone  23:49
Sean Hargan  Phoenix 24:01:00
Ross Collins UCD 24:17:00
Owen CampellIWCC 24:23:00
Harry Martin ClannEirann 24:29:00
Colin Massey  North Down 24:29:00
John ONeill Spires 24:30:00
William Orr Ards 24:31:00
Barry Kirkland  Island Wheelers 24:45:00
Tonia Moran Black Rose 24:56:00
John Hunter North Down 25:01:00
Ann McFarland East Tyrone  25:16:00
Colin Wilson Ards 25:27:00
Jonny Wilson East Tyrone  25:31:00
Warren McNeillClannEirann 25:36:00
Geoff Leonard East Tyrone  25:38:00
Gillian Orr Ards 26:11:00
Louise Togneri North Down 26:25:00
George Ruddy Ards 26:56:00
Sheena ONeill Island Wheelers 27:01:00
Lorraine Jeffers East Tyrone  27:23:00
Mark Stewart East Tyrone  28:32:00
Jonny Graham Orchard DNF

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.