Ulster Cycling News

Foyle CC Retains North West Inter Club League Title

Thursday night's final stage in the Inter Club League lived up to its pre-race billing, with Foyle Cycling Club retaining the Inter League title. Fending off a strong challenge from Donegal clubs Errigal Cycling Club and Four Masters Cycling Club, Foyle's racing team delivered a fantastic performance, with strong individual riders from Gavin O Neill, John Quigley, Thomas McLaughlin, Paul Bradley, Mark McKinney and Fergal Mc Geady. Club chairman Simon Gill, who was also placed in the points, said it was a great evening for the club: 'great credit goes to all the riders who have participated over the last number of months to ensure that Foyle retained this title.… Read more


19/06/2016 Father’s Day 25m TT Woodgreen

aChristie Unbeatable in Woodgreen 25
Ballymoney CC promoted its Father's Day Time Trial this morning on the Woodgreen circuit. Forty one riders took part, six of whom were women showing that women's cycling continues to grow. The weather was cool but with light rain at times.

Marcus Christie of Team Asea Wheelworx dominated the event coming in almost five minutes faster than nearest rival Chris Hutchinson of Team Madigan. Christie recorded a blistering 50:25 for the twenty five mile course while Hutchinson came in at 54:53.… Read more


McIntyre and Mitchell At The Draynes Farm Bobby Crilly – videos added.

20160611_135940Around 150 riders gathered for the two races a the Draynes Farm Bobby Crilly classic this year.  There were two races the A2/3 race and the A4 race.

The A2/3 race started the circuit with six laps to tackle before the famous climb to the top of Divis.  The racing was aggressive throughout with many attacks but the decisive racing was made, as it usually is, on the climb.  There was a headwind up the climb this year and so despite the steep gradients along the main road from Dundrod village it was a bunch much larger than usual that entered the gate of Divis together.… Read more


Stenson Takes First Yellow in Rás Dhun na nGall

aThe main street of the small Donegal heritage town of Ardara was a colourful spectacle this evening as the multi-coloured bunting and flags of many nations flapped gently on the warm breeze signalling that the Melting Pot music festival was underway. But on top of this the men and women riders sporting the  bright colours of their cycling clubs and teams from all around Ireland added to the buzz signalling that the 2016 Rás Dhun na nGall was about to get underway.

Ray Stanton as chief commissaire  paired up with Jack Watson as second Comm, were keeping everyone on their toes regarding the rules and regulations and John Curran in charge of proceedings as Race Director finally the riders were  lined up for the rollout ofArdara.… Read more


Tommy Givan Memorial Provides Exciting Racing

Adam WaThe Tommy Givan Memorial Road Races, promoted by Maryland Wheelers got off to a fine start this morning as the sun shone and the roads were dry. First off were the U16's who were competing for the McCann Givan U16 Trophy. There was some aggressive riding but Adam Ward of Omagh Wheelers emerged as the eventual winner.

Shay Donley (Ballymoney CC) was second with Liam Hanley (Lucan CC) in third. Nathan Keown (North Down CC) and Rob Lawrence (Bann Valley RC) completed the line up for prizes.… Read more


Ulster Youth Road Race and Time Trial Championships

The 2015 Ulster Youth Road Race and Time Trial Championships were hosted by Omagh Wheelers at the weekend. A last minute change in venue due to roadworks did not prevent the club laying on a superb day of racing for the riders as they experienced the spectacular scenery and rolling rural roads of Baronscourt, just outside the village of Newtownstewart. … Read more


McConvey wins North Down GP

Connor McConvey (Team 3M) won the North Down Grand Prix today (Sunday 23 August) in Donaghadee after a gruelling 90 miles race around the Orlock, Springwell, Hightrees circuit. The North Down Cycling club promotion was also the final round of the Cycling Ireland National Road Race series and Dundalk man Bryan McCrystal (Team Asea) retained his overall lead despite finishing outside the top ten placing.… Read more


Junior rider James Curry wins West Down GP

James Curry (Banbridge CC) won today’s West Down Grand Prix at Katesbridge, after an impressive attack to leave the race long break on Rathfriland Hill. The talented all rounder was 33 seconds ahead at the finish line four miles later. Kevin Lynch (Newry) beat James Ambrose (North Down CC) for second place with Paul Wilkinson of the promoting club West Down Wheelers fourth and Matthew Brennan (Ballymenta RC) fifth. … Read more


Bankhead Victorious at Billy Stewart Cup

The Billy Stewart Cup and support races was hosted on Sunday last by Apollo CT, Lurgan. With an almost 60 mile course of very flat circuit it was certain to attract some of the countries best sprinters.

In the A4 race there were many attempts for a break to get away, but with Apollo fielding a large squad of A4 riders they were very quick to chase down any attempts with good riding from Robbie Smith and John McCambridge, assisted by Timmy Burns of North Down, and some aggressive riding from Robbie Alexander Orchard Wheelers.… Read more


Shaw wins the John Beggs Memorial race

Damian Shaw (Team Asea) beat a top class field to win the John Beggs Memorial race in Dromore today. The reigning National Champion won on his own after 70 miles of aggressive racing around the hilly 9.5 mile circuit. Connor McConvey (Team 3M) was second to finish 30 seconds later with Mark Dowling (D.I.D. Dunboyne) third at 2 minutes. Bryan McCrystal (Asea) was fourth at the head of a chasing group followed by Sean McKenna (Aqua Blue) and Sean McIntyre (Caldwell Cycles).… Read more

Page 1 of 1312345...10...Last »