Ulster Cycling News

04/05/2016 Jimmy Devlin 10 : Woodgreen

Madden and Burns Top the Leader Board in Jimmy Devlin 10
John Madden of Inspired Cycling notched up yet another time trial victory when he won the Jimmy Devlin Memorial 10 mile time trial tonight at Woodgreen. The event, promoted by Phoenix CC, saw almost seventy riders turn out on what proved to be a calm but cool evening. John took the victory with a 20:30, just one second faster than second placed rider Neil Clarke of Team Asea. Paul Carroll of Velo Café Magasin was third a further six seconds behind while Christian Natchtigall of Phoenix was fourth with a 20:41.… Read more


09/04/2016 Ernie Magwood Super 6 TT Round 1 : Toome

aMadden and Russell Fastest at Toome
The Hayes Fuels Ernie Magwood Super 6 Time Trial League got off to a great start this morning at Toome. Over sixty riders braved the cold and blustery conditions to tackle the ten mile course from Toome to the Castledawson roundabout and back.The event promoted by Island Wheelers was well organised and marshalled.

John Madden of Dig Deep Coaching took not only the Master's 50 top score but his time of 20:37.6 was almost a minute faster than Jason Burns of Ballymena, his nearest rival in the senior men category.… Read more


06/09/2015 Ulster 100m TT Championships

McIntyre fastest at the 100m TT despite crashing
Sean McIntyre (Caldwell Cycles) was fastest on 26 riders in today’s Ulster 100 mile time trial Championships held on the Woodgreen course near Ballymena.… Read more


03/09/2015 Square Wheels – 2 up – results

On the Continent a popular cycling event is the "Grand Prix de Gentlemen". In this a vet and a younger cyclist are paired together and they time trial over various distances. Similar races were promoted by the vets in Dublin back in the 70's and 80's. Last Thursday, Square Wheels CC, sponsored by Rushmere, organised a similar competition over 10 miles on Armagh's Moy Road. Only this time different couplings were permitted: male/male, male/female and female/female.… Read more


30/08/2015 Ulster 25m TT Championships

Foyle CC hosted the Ulster 25m Championships today at Burt in Co Donegal. There was a large turn-out for this popular event and Foyle CC ensured that the event was promoted in a professional manner.

Marcus Christie of Bissell ABG Giant took the Elite men's title with a time of 52.06 from Sean McIntrye (Caldwell Cycles) and Patrick McKenna of Emyvale CC. Emmet Vallely of Square Wheels, John Madden of Dig Deep Inspired and Sean hargan (Phoenix CC0 were the winners in the new M40, M50 and M60 classes respectively.… Read more


19/07/2015 Ulster 10m TT Championships

Christie takes very narrow win at Ulster 10 TT Championship
Donegal Bay Cycling Club hosted the Ulster 10 mile Time Trial Championship on Sunday 19 July 2015 on the N15 course in South Donegal with the start/finish area in the shadow of the iconic and beautiful Barnesmore Gap. The young and progressive Donegal club took on the mantle of hosting their first ever provincial championship and ran a very well organised event. Luckily the heavy rain of the last few days gave way to an outbreak of sunshine which was a welcome turn of events for competitors, organisers and spectators alike.… Read more


11/06/2015 County Down 10 mile TT Championships

Velo Club Iveagh promoted an open 10 mile time trial on Saturday 11th July incorporating the County Down Championships. The fastest time for the Newry-Warrenpoint course was Colm Cassidy (Aqua Blue) with 19 minutes 54 seconds.… Read more


05/07/2015 Ulster 50m TT Championships – Tommy Givan Memorial

The Tommy Givan 50TT doubled up as the Ulster 50m TT Championship on Sunday the 5th July on the popular Woodgreen course. The event seen 40 entries on day the weather forecasters gave frequent heavy thundery showers, however it remained dry and quite warm. A tough headwind from Ballymena to Dunsilly was certainly the toughest stretch of the course where riders struggled to break 20 mph. On the other hand they took full advantage of the tailwind back to Ballymena.… Read more


Newry 3 day – after stages 2 and 3 Heverin takes the lead

John Heverin (TVR) is the new leader of the Newry 3-Day after winning this afternoons Stage 3 time trial of 3.7 miles. The renowned tester from Lurgan clocked a time of 7 minutes 57 seconds to win by 8 seconds from Derek Cunningham (Bikeworx, Dublin). James Ambrose (North Down CC) did an excellent performance to place third at 9 seconds while Jake Gray (Nicholas Roche Performance Team) was fifth at 16 seconds dropping to third overall behind Heverin and Cunningham.… Read more


Mullen Takes Two National Titles in TT Championships

aOmagh Wheelers Cycling club kicked off the National Championships with a super time trial tonight on the rolling roads around Omagh.

Ryan Mullen (An Post Chain Reaction) repeated his win of last year in the Elite and Under 23 category with a time of 47 minutes 46 seconds for the 23 mile loop.

The silver medal went to Cork teenager Eddie Dunbar (48:11) who now riders for the UK based Pro team NFTO.

Ulster man Martyn Irvine (Madison Genises) was third fastest with a time of 48 minutes 57 seconds.… Read more

Page 3 of 3012345...102030...Last »