Ulster Cycling News

19/06/2016 Father’s Day 25m TT Woodgreen

aChristie Unbeatable in Woodgreen 25
Ballymoney CC promoted its Father's Day Time Trial this morning on the Woodgreen circuit. Forty one riders took part, six of whom were women showing that women's cycling continues to grow. The weather was cool but with light rain at times.

Marcus Christie of Team Asea Wheelworx dominated the event coming in almost five minutes faster than nearest rival Chris Hutchinson of Team Madigan. Christie recorded a blistering 50:25 for the twenty five mile course while Hutchinson came in at 54:53.… Read more


16/06/2016 Ernie Magwood Super 6 Rd 3 – Woodgreen

Marcus Christie of Asea Wheelworx continues to show his return to form when he won tonight's Round 3 of the Ernie Magwood Super 6 TT League. He posted a time of 19.18 which was almost a minute faster than second placed rider,  Craig McAuley of Caldwell Cycles. Team Madigan's Chris Hutchinson was third with 20:27. Ali Gribbon of Carn Wheelers was first of the M40 class an fourth overall with 20.45 while Sharman Crawford of Bann Wheelers topped the M50 class with 22:13.

Sean Hargan of Phoenix CC continues to dominate the M60 class with his 22:38 although Dominic Drumm of Bann Wheelers wasn't too far behind with 22:46.… Read more


07/06/2016 Ciclisport Glenshane TT Round 2

c1The Ciclisport Glenshane TT Series promoted by Carn Wheelers continued last night with the second ten mile TT on the Glenshane pass. Craig McAuley was on form and took the win in the Elite class with a time of 20.12. Second placed rider was John Madden of Inspired Cycling who was also the first of the M50 class. Madden completed the course in a time of 21.03.  Third place went to Junior rider, Conor McCann (Asea Wheelworx) with a time of 21.15.

Second Elite rider was the home club's Joseph McCrory who recorded a 21.27 while third Elite was his club-mate, Jonny Taylor with a time of 21.31.… Read more


Stenson Retains Lead In Donegal

aStage 2 of Rás Dhun  na nGall got off to a fine start this morning in dry and sunny conditions.  For those that have taken part in this race in the past there was a sigh of relief that road works prevented the stage starting on the tough hill climb route from Mahera Sands which has been used in previous years. This year the course took riders out the main Killybegs Road and the original intention was to finish on top of the climb at ‘The Nick’.… Read more


26/05/2016 Ernie Magwood Super 6 Rd 2 – Toome

The second round of the Hayes Fuels Ernie Magwood Super 6 TT league took place on 26th May - last Thursday evening in bright but windy conditions on the Toome Course. Once again it was the 50+ veteran John Madden of Inspired Cycling who recorded the fastest time of 21:00.6 almost a minute faster than second placed rider on the night, Ali Gribbon of Carn Wheelers . an M4 rider, who chalked up a 21:07.1. Third placed rider was Phoenix CC’s, Craig Rea who was first of the Elite riders.… Read more


02/06/2016 Cathcart Centra Spires TT Trilogy Round 2

The second round of the Cathcart Centra Spires TT Trilogy took place this evening. Tonight's event was sponsored by McCullough Estate Agents in Magherafelt.

Once again Craig McAuley of Caldwell Cycles took a fantastic win on the Toome course recording a 20.49 for the ten miles. He was followed in by Ali Gribbon of Carn Wheelers who recorded a 21.24. Concor McCann of Team Asea was third with a 21.42.

Eileen Burns continued her winning streak by recording a 23.06 to top the women's results. Once again Karen Hull had to satidfied with second recording 24.41 while Joanne Regan of Termoneeny CC was third with 25.14.… Read more


31/05/2016 Ulster Team Time Trial Championships – Woodgreen

Phoenix and Madigan are Ulster Team TT Champions
The Ulster team Time Trial Championships took place tonight in very windy conditions. The event was promoted by Phoenix CC and the course was the 25 mile course on the Woodgreen circuit. Phoenix CC A team were the fastest on the night lifting the coveted Ulster Championship medal and title. The team consisted of Christian Nachtigall, Craig Rea, Daniel Daly and Cathal Smyth who completed the course in a time of 51.13

Island Wheelers took silver and in a time of  52:45.… Read more


15/05/2016 Champion of Champion 25mTT

inaInglis and Burns win at Ards
Ian Inglis of Black Rose Racing repeated his 2015 achievement by once again recording the fastest time of 56:05 to lift the prestigious Champion of Champions Time Trial Trophy on Sunday. The Champion of Champions Time was promoted by Ards CC on an out and back course with a dead turn at the halfway stage. Not noted for being a fast course Inglis still managed an excellent time of 56:05. some forty seconds faster than second placed Paul Carroll of Velo Café Magasin.… Read more


12/05/2016 Ciclisport Glenshane TT Series – Round 1

Christie and Burns in Top Form at Opening Round of Carn Wheelers TT Series
The new TT Series being promoted by Carn Wheelers got off to a fine start this evening on the Glenshane Pass. All six rounds will take place on this course. The first round took place last night in dry and sunny conditions. However despite the seemingly ideal conditions testers faced swirling winds which made the going tough both on the way out and on the way back.

Marcus Christie of Causeway CC topped the leader board on the night with his blistering 19:57.50 time for the ten miles showing that he still has a powerful engine and will always be someone to beat.… Read more


05/05/2016 Cathcart Centra Spires TT Trilogy Round 1

The Cathcart Centra Spires CC Trilogy kicked off this evening with the ten mile time trial on the Toome circuit. Craig McAuley of Caldwell Cycles was fastest on the night recording a 20.33 followed in by Craig Rea of Phoenix at 21.16. Ali Gribbon of Carn Wheelers who has been riding strongly all year took a well deserved third place with his 21.28.

Fastest of the women on the night was Eileen Burns oF Ballymena CRC who recorded a 22.40. Phoenix CC's Karn Hull was next with a 24.59 followed by Joanne Regan of Termoneeny CC who did the course in a time of 25.09.… Read more

Page 2 of 3012345...102030...Last »