Ulster Cycling News

Newry Wheelers Defend their TTT Title in Style

4The Newry Wheelers squad of Des Woods, Sean Featherstone, Colm Quinn and Aidan Bingham descended on Ballymena tonight with coach Barry Monaghan in tow to defend their Ulster Team Time Trial Champions title from all comers. Racing past the finishing post with a time of 48:04 for the 25 mile distance they were a good twenty seconds faster than nearest rivals the Powerhouse team. However the Powerhouse squad were all juniors and the three finishers were Cathir Doyle, Xeno Young and Breandan Flanagan. Unfortunately fourth man Adam Ward suffered a mechanical right at the start with his brakes jamming on.… Read more


01/10/2017 Ulster 100 Mile TT Championships 2017

20171001_134827Sub Four Hour Times at 100 TT

The Ulster 100 mile Time Trial Championships took place on Sunday and despite windy damp weather eleven riders took part with eight finishers. Newry's Niall Clarke took the Senior Gold medal with a superb time of 3:51:45. He was followed in by John Madden of Inspired Cycling in a time of 3:56:19 and he takes the gold medal in the M50 class. Silver and bronze in this category went to Island Wheelers' Noel McLoughlin and Patrick Morning of Four Masters respectively. … Read more


Entries closing For National TT and Road Races

If you are interested in competing in the National Road Championships get your entry in NOW!! Registration closes on Thursday 15th June for the Time Trial and on Saturday 17th June for the Road Race - time is running out fast! If you haven't already done so get your entries in for these events. Click HERE to enter.

Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com Read more


31/05/2017 Ulster Team Time Trial Championships

1Newry Storm to Victory in Team TT Championships

The Ulster 25 mile team time trial championships take place on Tuesday evening in dry but windy conditions. Twenty two teams lined up to pit their skill against the clock on the Woodgreen circuit, arguably the fastest time trial circuit in Ulster. This proves the popularity of the event which has continued to grow in numbers since its inception.

Favourites going into the event were the Phoenix A team which included a number of seasoned testers.  East Tyrone have also done well in this event over the past years while Carn Wheelers have been producing testers who are consistently in the results.… Read more


Entry Now Open for Gordon Scott Memorial 10 mile Open TT

Kings Moss Cycling Club invite riders to participate in The Gordon Scott Memorial 10 mile Open TT on Sunday 7th May 2017. The event will be limited to 100 riders and will take place on the Woodgreen Circuit.  Entry Fee is £7.00 for Pre-Entry and £10.00 on the day. Sign-on from 9.00am and closes 9.45am. The first rider will be off at 10.00am.… Read more


National Championships 2017 – Junior & Master TT and Junior & A3 RR

Carn Wheelers are proud to announce that they have been awarded the promotion of the Junior & Master Time Trial and A3 & Junior National  Championships to take place on 9th & 10th September 2017. All events for

All information will be posted on the www.carnwheelers.co.uk and the Carn Wheelers facebook page. In the interim for information contact Aidan Higgins, Carn Wheelers at aidanhiggins01@googlemail.com

Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com… Read more


11/09/2016 – 100 Mile Ulster Time Trial – Woodgreen

Hutchinson, Lamont and Hargan Among New Ulster 100 TT Champions
In what only can be described as horrendous conditions a group of hardy men and women lined up a Woodgreen this morning to take part in the Ulster 100 mile Time Trial Championships. While the riders faced a headwind initially by the time they had completed four of the seven laps the wind played a significant part in reducing the rider's speed. Chris Hutchinson of Team Madigan proved to be the fastest rider over 100 miles managing to break the four hour barrier, despite the wind, recording an excellent 3:59:50.… Read more


Ulster 100m TT Championship this Sunday

The Ulster 100 mile TT Championship will take place at Woodgreen this Sunday 11th September 2016. The event which is hosted by Ballymoney Cycling Club is a real challenge but there is a frowing number of people who want to tackle this gruelling event. Unfortunately missing from this year's line-up is stalwart participant Willie John McLaughlin who is currently in hospital following an accident on his bike while out training for this event. All who know Willie John wish him a speedy recovery. This would have been his eighth 100 mile Time Trial in a row.… Read more

Filed under: Time Trial, Women No Comments

Christie Takes Ulster 25 Senior TT Title

image1Island Wheelers promoted an excellent Ulster 25 mile TT Championship today on the Dungannon Rd circuit. Marcus Christie of Team Asea Wheelworx was the fastest overall lifting the Senior men's title with a time of 49.17 followed in by Craig McAuley (Caldwell Cycles) with 51.59 and Chris Hutchinson (Team Madigan) with 53.56.

As expected Eileen Burns of Ballymena CRC was the Elite Women's Champion with Claire McIlwaine of Phoenix CC taking silver. While Karen Hull of Phoenix CC was third and in past years would have lifted the bronze medal, the rules imposed by Cycling Ulster this year see Karen lose out on a medal.… Read more


Ulster 25 M TT Championships Sun 28th August

Ulster 25 mile TT Championships Sunday 28th August 2016

Island Wheelers are proud to host this year’s Ulster 25 mile TT Championships. The event will take p;ace tomorrow, Sunday 28th August. The first rider will be set off at 10.00am.  Sign on will take place from 8.30am at Dungannon Swifts Football Club, Stangmore Park, Far Circular Rd, Tyrone, Dungannon BT71 6PP. Showers, changing facilities, and light refreshments will be provided here.

The course will be as follows

Starting 0.5km after the Stangmore roundabout on the new a4 From Dungannon (Woodlough Road) to Ballygawley, going towards Ballygawley, proceed round the roundabout and exit towards Dungannon/Belfast.… Read more

Filed under: Time Trial, Women No Comments
Page 1 of 3812345...102030...Last »