Ulster Cycling News

Ryan Wins Stage 3 of AmberGreen Energy Tour of Ulster 2017

The Tour of Ulster started today in the Moy with 75.8 miles to cover over 7 laps of a 10 mile circuit. Shortly after the start 9 riders moved clear, they were Mark O'Callaghan (Aqua Blue Sport Academy), Anthony Walsh (Aqua Blue Sport Academy), Darnell Moore (Caldwell Cycles Omagh), Chris McGlinchey (Cycling Ulster), Lindsay Watson (Cycling Ulster), David McFall (Omagh Wheelers Cycling Club), Robert Jon McCarthy (Team Monaghan), David Watson (The Bike House CC) and Ian Richardson (UCD Cycling Club).

Robert Jon McCarthy (Team Monaghan) who was sitting in 2nd place overall was in the lead group and their advantage increased to 56 seconds after 20 miles covered, putting McCarthy (Team Monaghan) the virtual race leader on the road.… Read more


Morton Wins Stage 2 of AmberGreen Energy Tour of Ulster 2017

The Tour of Ulster started today in the Moy with 90.8 miles to cover. By the time the race reached the 1st KOH of the day at 7.7 miles covered a 5 man group had a 19 second lead over the main field. The group consisted of Marc Potts (Cycling Ulster), Lindsay Watson (Cycling Ulster), James Davenport (Strata3-Velorevolution Cycling Team), Adam Stenson (TEAM BIKEWORX Celbridge) & Cian O'Reilly (UCD Cycling Club).

When the race reached the 2nd KOH at Newry the leaders had being joined by more riders and had a 23 second lead over the main field.… Read more


O’Mahony Wins Stage 1 of Tour of Ulster

aThe Tour of Ulster started this year in the in Moy, Robert Jon McCarthy (Team Monaghan) was the first attacker, but was caught soon after. After a flurry of attacks a of 9 man lead group established a 15 second lead by the time the race entered Cookstown with 15 miles covered. They were Matteo Cigala (Aqua Blue Sport Academy), Ronan McLaughlin (Aqua Blue Sport Academy), Anthony Walsh (Aqua Blue Sport Academy), Jamie Blanchfield (Carrick Wheelers Cycling Club), Marc Potts (Cycling Ulster), Mark Dowling (Strata3-Velorevolution Cycling Team), Adam Stenson (TEAM BIKEWORX Celbridge), Robert Jon McCarthy (Team Monaghan) and Ian Richardson (UCD Cycling Club).… Read more


Entry Now Open for Gordon Scott Memorial 10 mile Open TT

Kings Moss Cycling Club invite riders to participate in The Gordon Scott Memorial 10 mile Open TT on Sunday 7th May 2017. The event will be limited to 100 riders and will take place on the Woodgreen Circuit.  Entry Fee is £7.00 for Pre-Entry and £10.00 on the day. Sign-on from 9.00am and closes 9.45am. The first rider will be off at 10.00am.… Read more


Banbridge CC Crit Open for Entry Monday

Banbridge CC are pleased to once again promote the Banbridge Criterium for 2017 on Friday 12th May.  Following the success of the event in 2016 when it hosted the Irish National Championships Banbridge are pleased to confirm the event will use the same popular 1km circuit, starting and finishing on Banbridge town’s main high street – Newry St – to bring the fast paced action of crit racing to the town centre where it belongs. See Map of Course HERE. Read more

Filed under: Crit, Youth Continue reading

Experienced Line-up for Tour of Ulster

The Tour of Ulster starts this coming weekend and the line-up is impressive. With the majority of riders coming from Ireland and looking to use this event as training for the up-coming An Post Rás it should make for an exciting race.

Cycling Ulster is fielding a strong team. Marc Potts is on the team and he recently had an impressive win in the tough Waller Cup at Bohermeen.… Read more


Ras Dhun na nGall 2017 Entry Information

The June bank holiday weekend is fast approaching and all the A2/A3 riders are making their preparations for another festival of cycling that is Ras Dhun na nGall. This year’s event as in previous editions is a 4 stage event and is based once again in the Nesbitt Arms Hotel, Ardara from the 2nd to 4th June 2017 with stages fairly similar to last year. Stage 1 will involve a loop through Kilrane, Frosses, Dunkineely and returning to Ardara over the Nick. Stage 2 will be a hilly timetrial.… Read more


All Geared Up For AmberGreen Tour of Ulster

9This May Bank Holiday weekend sees the return of the ‘AmberGreen Tour of Ulster’ to the village of Moy in County Tyrone which will host the start and finish of all 3 stages, from 29th April to 1st May 2017.

The AmberGreen Tour of Ulster is one of Ireland’s longest established races. Established in 1957, the race is attracting elite riders from across Ireland & the UK.

Neil O'Brien, Chairman of the host company, AmberGreen, said he is delighted to be involved with the ‘AmberGreen Tour of Ulster’ following the success of last year’s event.… Read more


Ward Shows his Strength in Lakeland GP

Adam Ward of Powerhouse Sport continued to show his strength when he won the Lakeland GP yesterday. The event promoted by Lakeland CC saw the riders complete 90km over a rolly course with a couple of steep drags before the finish just outside Enniskillen. Gareth Murray of Ards, who has been getting in to the results recently, was second with Conor Devlin of Island Wheelers in third.

In the 60km A4 race it was Philip Graham (U/A) who ousted home rider Mark McGirr to take top spot. … Read more


Archibald on Fire – Unstoppable in Tour of the North

John Archibald continued to dominate the 2017 Tour of the North when he took the time trial stage this morning with a time of 10m 16.27s which was over 30 seconds faster than David Watson of The Bike House CC. Ed Clemens of Tifosi RT was third. Darnell Moore of Caldwell Cycles and Xeno Young riding for the Ireland Junior team were best of the local riders.

The Tour continued in the afternoon with a circuit course which included five ascents of the Roguery Hill. Once again John Archibald was in the thick of the action getting away in a three man break with Ed Clemens and Roger Aiken of the Ireland Team.… Read more

Page 4 of 156« First...23456...102030...Last »