Ulster Cycling News

Madigan GP Entry Now Open

Madigan Grand Prix Saturday 5th August - Pre Entry Now Open
To Pre-Enter the Madigan Grand Prix whih takes place on Saturday 5th August 2017 please click the link below! Please make sure you give your category and your complete licence number / race number. Note the (A) race and (B) race use Entry Central. Women and Over 50 Vets enter on the day at Sign-On and will be given a race number from the promoter! To enter click this link https://www.entrycentral.com/madigangp

Team Madigan Cycling Club, Carrickfergus will promote the 28th Madigan Cycles Grand Prix at Kilroot near Carrickfergus Co.… Read more


Ulster Road Race Championship 2017 Sunday 23rd July 2017

The Ulster Road Race Championship 2017 will take place on  Sunday 23rd July 2017. The race promoter is  North Donegal Cycling Club.  There will be seven championship races as well as a non championship race for A4's. Entry s online via Entry Central. Further details can be found below.… Read more


Entries closing For National TT and Road Races

If you are interested in competing in the National Road Championships get your entry in NOW!! Registration closes on Thursday 15th June for the Time Trial and on Saturday 17th June for the Road Race - time is running out fast! If you haven't already done so get your entries in for these events. Click HERE to enter.

Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com Read more


Noel Teggart Races Open for Entry

Pre-entry for the 2017 Noel Teggart Memorial opened on Tuesday 6th June via the Cycling Ireland web portal.  A total of 6 races will be on offer for what looks set to be a busy and exciting day of racing
in Banbridge. The flagship event for the day will cater for A1 & A2 riders covering a total distance of 130km over 7 laps of the well-known Banbridge/Gilford/Scarva circuit.  A separate race will be hosted to cater for the A3 and A3 Junior riders, using the same course but with a reduced distance of 110km  covering 6 laps.… Read more


31/05/2017 Ulster Team Time Trial Championships

1Newry Storm to Victory in Team TT Championships

The Ulster 25 mile team time trial championships take place on Tuesday evening in dry but windy conditions. Twenty two teams lined up to pit their skill against the clock on the Woodgreen circuit, arguably the fastest time trial circuit in Ulster. This proves the popularity of the event which has continued to grow in numbers since its inception.

Favourites going into the event were the Phoenix A team which included a number of seasoned testers.  East Tyrone have also done well in this event over the past years while Carn Wheelers have been producing testers who are consistently in the results.… Read more


Ethan Downey Snatches Dramatic Win at Dunloy

Ethan Downey (Clann Eireann) and Conor Gallagher (Castlebar CC) staged a classic breakaway and sprinted together in the combined A1/2/3 Race today in Dunloy. In sun soaked North Antrim Downey came out tops at the line in a 62 rider talent packed field which took on 4 laps of the tough 18 miles 'Millbrae' Circuit.

Dale Bonnar from Ballymena Road Club took victory in the A4 race with Darren McCann  Dromara CC) and Peadar O'Mochlain (Emyvale CC) taking 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Lisa Lamont from Team Madigan won the Women's race and Chris McCann from Phoenix CC the M50 Masters event.… Read more


Feast of Racing at Emyvale

Emyvale Grand Prix :
Emyvale CC held their annual Gp on Sunday 21st May. The youth races kicked off at 10.00am with U16s off first with 4 laps of a 10km circuit from Emyvale to Corracrin to Glennan and back to Emyvale. They were followed by the U14s with 2 laps and the U12s with 1 lap. The racing was fast with plenty of attacking but all breakaways were taken back for the hill sprint at the end. Thanks to Emma McKenna, representing Emyvale Credit Union, for helping with prize-giving along with former pro cyclist and Irish Olympian, Mark Scanlon, who was to ride the main event later on.

Read more

North West 3 Day This Weekend

This weekend sees Foyle CC promote the North West 3 Day Cycling Race supported by Derry & Strabane District Council. This event will see 100 riders compete on the challenging roads of Derry and Donegal. The event is the biggest cycling race to come to Derry in many years and only weeks before Ireland's toughest professional race "An Post Ras" will race in many of the same roads.

The race starts on Friday evening 12th May with a Road race, continues on Saturday Morning with a Time Trial and later that afternoon another road race.The final stage road race takes place on Sunday morning.… Read more


Entry Now Open for Gordon Scott Memorial 10 mile Open TT

Kings Moss Cycling Club invite riders to participate in The Gordon Scott Memorial 10 mile Open TT on Sunday 7th May 2017. The event will be limited to 100 riders and will take place on the Woodgreen Circuit.  Entry Fee is £7.00 for Pre-Entry and £10.00 on the day. Sign-on from 9.00am and closes 9.45am. The first rider will be off at 10.00am.… Read more


Fyffe was the Man on Form At East Tyrone GP

afAngus Fyffe of Omagh Wheelers continued his string of fine performance this year by taking the East Tyrone GP in style. Fyffe who has ridden with pro-continental outfit the An Post Sean Kelly team stamped his mark on the race early on. The tough six lap race for was run off in glorious sunshine.  Darnel Moore of Caldwell Cycles took second place with Alan Bingham of Cuchullain CC in third.  East Tyrone Junior, Harvey Barnes, was given special permission to ride this A event and he showed what he was made of by taking fourth place.… Read more

Page 2 of 6412345...102030...Last »