Ulster Cycling News

McConvey wins North Down GP

Connor McConvey (Team 3M) won the North Down Grand Prix today (Sunday 23 August) in Donaghadee after a gruelling 90 miles race around the Orlock, Springwell, Hightrees circuit. The North Down Cycling club promotion was also the final round of the Cycling Ireland National Road Race series and Dundalk man Bryan McCrystal (Team Asea) retained his overall lead despite finishing outside the top ten placing.… Read more


Junior rider James Curry wins West Down GP

James Curry (Banbridge CC) won today’s West Down Grand Prix at Katesbridge, after an impressive attack to leave the race long break on Rathfriland Hill. The talented all rounder was 33 seconds ahead at the finish line four miles later. Kevin Lynch (Newry) beat James Ambrose (North Down CC) for second place with Paul Wilkinson of the promoting club West Down Wheelers fourth and Matthew Brennan (Ballymenta RC) fifth. … Read more


Two National Series go down to the wire in Ulster this weekend.

There is still all to play for as the Cycling Ireland Men`s National Road Series and Joe Daly Women`s National League both reach their finale on Sunday in County Down with the North Down Grand Prix.
Already one of the richest one-day events on the calendar carrying a first prize of approximately €430, (£300), Sunday will also see someone walk away with the top prize of €670 as the Men`s National Series winner.… Read more


West Down GP and McCall Bun Run

The West Down GP will  be held this Saturday 22nd at Katesbridge, signing on from 9
at the hall in Katesbridge.  Racing starts 11.00am sharp with A2 A3s off first followed  by A4s then over 50 and women. There is absolutely no parking on the hall road opposite any driveways to houses as milk lorrys need to get in. Car parking will be in  Katesbridge  park and slip road at the back of the housing estate. Directions will be in place for everything so follow them.… Read more


Bankhead Victorious at Billy Stewart Cup

The Billy Stewart Cup and support races was hosted on Sunday last by Apollo CT, Lurgan. With an almost 60 mile course of very flat circuit it was certain to attract some of the countries best sprinters.

In the A4 race there were many attempts for a break to get away, but with Apollo fielding a large squad of A4 riders they were very quick to chase down any attempts with good riding from Robbie Smith and John McCambridge, assisted by Timmy Burns of North Down, and some aggressive riding from Robbie Alexander Orchard Wheelers.… Read more


Shaw wins the John Beggs Memorial race

Damian Shaw (Team Asea) beat a top class field to win the John Beggs Memorial race in Dromore today. The reigning National Champion won on his own after 70 miles of aggressive racing around the hilly 9.5 mile circuit. Connor McConvey (Team 3M) was second to finish 30 seconds later with Mark Dowling (D.I.D. Dunboyne) third at 2 minutes. Bryan McCrystal (Asea) was fourth at the head of a chasing group followed by Sean McKenna (Aqua Blue) and Sean McIntyre (Caldwell Cycles).… Read more


Ulster Youth Road Championships

Omagh Wheelers will this year host the Ulster Youth Championships on Saturday 22 August. The venue will be the Model Primary school just outside the village of Newtownstewart, along the Baronscourt Road.… Read more


Watty wins the Tour of Omagh

Stephen Watty (North Down CC) is the winner of the 2015 SPAR Tour of Omagh after an exciting fourth stage in the Sperrin Mountains. The self employed joiner finished third in the 44 miles stage behind stage winner Niall Morris (Phoenix CC) and Darren Guy (St. Teirnans CC).… Read more


Tour of Omagh – 3 day – results from day 1 and 2

The SPAR Tour of Omagh 2015 is widely recognised as one of the best A4 stage races in Ireland, will follow a similar format to previous years with three road stages and a time trial stage. Stage 1 kicked off on Friday 7th August, with 129 riders tackling a 45 mile circuit, passing through Castlederg before tackling Scraghey mountain and then making the return journey into Omagh. A full report and pictures to follow.… Read more


Entry open for the John Begg’s Memorial Road Race – 15 August

Pre-registration for the 2015 John Begg’s Memorial will open on Tuesday 4th Aug at 9 pm via EntryCentral.com. The event, which will take place on Saturday 15th August, will host 3 separate races; an A1/2/3/J race, a dedicated A4 race and an Over 50’s race.… Read more

Page 19 of 93« First...10...1718192021...304050...Last »